Good Video Editor?

Posted: June 14, 2011 in Miscellaneous

I’m taking longer than usual in getting the recap of Gingerman written and the pics/video.  Since I was at Hallet last weekend that took a big chunk of my time away.  Anyway, I normally use Picasa 3 to crop / edit videos but it is not working anymore in that capacity (after several failed attempts to troubleshoot / reinstall) so I have to find something else to use that will hopefully allow cropping of videos; combing cropped videos (so I can skip long boring parts of races – at least to the viewer); and possibly add video.  This needs to run on an XP machine.  Thanks.

Comments
  1. Did you try windows movie maker? I recently purchased Adobe Premire Elements 9. It’s $99 with $20 MIR. I like it. I needed something quick and easy to make a dvd for a class presentation. I fumbled around with some freeware that didn’t work as well as I had hoped. Kept getting video and audio out of sync. had trouble burning dvd etc. finally I bought Adobe out of frustration with the free stuff. I’m sure there is a good freebie out there but didn’t have time to keep looking.

    Here’s the system requirements: http://www.adobe.com/products/premiereel/systemreqs/

    It’s kind of slow but it worked ok on my low budget laptop with 3 GB RAM and 2GHz T3400 intel cpu.

  2. I have an older Windows XP version. I liked Picasa 3 but it doesn’t work correctly anymore and I’m tired of trying to trouble shoot it. I’ve got a bunch of videos I want to do a better job editing. I might look into Adobe.

    I assume it does wmv, avi, mpeg, mov?

  3. I found a candidate that may be the perfect fit – it’s called Racerenderer2 and is specifically made for editing and synching race data with video. I’m going to figure out how to deal with my ancient laptop before I download it.

Leave a Reply

